Selling

August 1, 2008

G bought a small condo several years before we met. It was the perfect size for him, but when I moved in a few years ago, it quickly became a tight squeeze. We’re on the end – but have loud upstairs neighbors. Neither one of us felt comfortable buying and/or selling property before we were married, so we held off putting our condo on the market until this summer.

When we got back from our honeymoon, we got right to work. We cleaned, we painted, we scrubbed. After 10 days of reading chick lit, drinking mojitos, and going for a daily swim, we went to working full time and getting home to another 4-5 hours of work to complete.

We went on the market this past Wednesday. G told me going into this that selling and/or buying a house is stressful. He wasn’t kidding. Much like everywhere else, where we live the real estate market is not so good. It’s not as bad as it has been in the past and it’s not as bad as it is other places in the country, but it’s definitely in a down market. The good news is that out of four units on the market, two have sold (and it appears before ours went on the market). The bad news is that we still don’t have a buyer.

G keeps telling me that everything will work out the way it’s supposed to. Someday, somehow, someone will buy our house. And he believes that someday is going to be soon. The thing is, I’ve never been very good at predicting what’s going to happen, and I’ve especially never been good at believing that good things will actually happen. I’m not an eternal pessimist by any stretch of the imagination, but I’m just not very good at having faith. Job interviews, graduate school applications, what have you not, until I have the acceptance letter in my hand I’ll believe I’m not getting it. And in real estate, that’s not a good attitude to have. I’m afraid I’m jinxing myself by not having faith our house will sell. I fear financial ruin as I read newspaper articles about the downturn in the market. I comfort myself that I will never be a real estate agent because my god, man, how can you do it?

Ultimately, everything will work out. It has to. But until it does, I’ll worry. I’ll worry we should have painted neutral colors. I’ll worry our cats distract potential buyers. I’ll worry our neighbors are too loud and will always prevent someone from buying our unit. I’ll worry we’ll have to pour more money that we don’t have and time we don’t want to give in order to make a meager sale. I’ll worry worry worry worry.

I know I just need to take a chill pill, but at the moment it’s hard to swallow.

Leave a Reply

